MTV held their annual Video Music Awards on Sunday (Sept. 12) at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center in New York.

Pulling a double-duty, Doja Cat hosted the event and performed “Been Like This” and “You Right” for the evening. She also grabbed a few awards including Best Collaboration “Kiss Me More” and Best Art Direction with “Best Friend”.

Other highlighted moments including Normani who gave Teyana Taylor a lapdance for her “Wild Side” performance and Chloe making her live solo debut with her new single, “Have Mercy”.

Polo G brought his Hall of Fame to the awards with “Rap Star”, SAINt JHN took the spotlight with a performance of “Roses” and “Sucks To Be You”, and Busta Rhymes took it back with a medley of his classic hits with Spliff Star.

Latto wore her crown with pride for “Queen Of Da Souf”, Alicia Keys and Swae Lee performed their new single “La La” for the first time, and Justin Bieber connected with The Kid Laroi for “Stay” and “Ghost”. Bieber also took home Artist Of The Year and Best Pop for his “Peaches” with Daniel Caesar and Giveon.

Elsewhere, Machine Gun Kelly rocked the stage with a live rendition of “papercuts”, and Lil Nas X, who won the prestigious Video Of The Year with “Montero“, kept the viewers in awe with his much-talked about performance of “Industry Baby” and “Montero” with Jack Harlow.

The full list of winners can be viewed here.


Leave a Reply